Glasgow Coma Scale

with No comments 

Glasgow Coma Scale

The Glasgow Coma Scale Is Based On a 15 Point Scale Used For Estimating And Categorising The Severity Of Brain Injury 


Following A Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI). The Test Measures The Motor Response, Verbal Response, And Eye-Opening Response With The Following Scoring Scheme:

Eye Response
Spontaneous Eye Opening
4 Points
Opens To Verbal Command, Speech, Or Shout
3 Points
Opens To Pain, Not Applied To Face
2 Points
No Eye Opening
1 Point
Verbal Response
Alert And Oriented
5 Points
Confused Conversation, But Able To Answer Questions
4 Points
Inappropriate Responses, Jumbled Phrases, But Discernible Words
3 Points
Incomprehensible Speech
2 Points
No Sounds
1 Points
Motor Response
Obeys Commands For Movement Fully
6 Points
Localises To Noxious Stimuli
5 Points
Withdraws From Noxious Stimuli
4 Points
Abnormal Flexion, Decorticate (Towards The Core Of The Body ) Posturing
3 Points
Extensor Response, Decerebrate (Celebrate Away From Body)  Posturing
2 Points
No Response
1 Point

Let’s take the example of starting an iv on a confused patient.

If your patient simply pulls the hand that you are starting the i.v. in away from you, they have withdrawn from pain (4).

If they use the opposite hand to cross the midline and try to push the stimulus away, they have localised the pain (5).

The Levels Of Brain Injury Severity Are Classified As:

GCS Score
3 - 8
9 - 12
13 - 15

Thank you Reader
Your Like Motivate Us To Post New And Unique Articles So Don’t Forget To  Like, Comment and Share This Post. LIKE US On Our Facebook Page To Get Latest Updates.

Copyright © 2017 by
All rights reserved. No part of this post/article may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including copying, photography, Screenshot or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the prior written permission of the Admin. Otherwise strict legal action taken against that person.
For permission requests, write to the Admin


Post a comment